Of viral videos, graduation and that medal I should have worn

In the spirit of graduation, a video of a girl delivering her salutatory speech went viral recently because she was cut short by a school official when she started talking about transparency and questioned the grading system of the school. Here’s the video, for your reference

Picture1

Would’ve been inspiring. So much for freedom of speech haha!

So I watched the material and I can’t help but feel nostalgic and remember the time when I was exactly in the same shoes but felt too young and scared to do something about it.

It’s been years since my elementary graduation but I still clearly remember how I was robbed (or at least I felt I was) of the “honors” I think were due to me just because I was vocal about transferring for high school.

One of my subject teachers (who also held a high post in the school) gave me a grade that is a point away from the honors qualifier so ya, I was disqualified, I didn’t even saw my final paper I swear to God. I was a consistent honor student since first grade so that was so hard to believe, I didn’t even saw it coming, I would’ve appreciated a proactive advise that I might not make it but no, I was caught off guard. Where is the love, really?

Also, a leadership award was given annually to the president of the student council (that was me, and oh, I was vice president the year before) so I was kind of expecting it. Come awarding time, my first name was called – but with a different surname! And yes, they ended up giving the award to the “different surname”. Haha. Must be my lucky year. Seriously, that was my first heartbreak ever. It took me quite some time to get over ha, I really got lazy in high school and felt that I wasn’t good enough. That experience got the best of me, I was traumatized – my hands are cold typing this, yeah, flashback feels.

I guess where I’m coming from is that I failed to do something about it, I was young, naive and scared, I didn’t even cry for help, I just let it pass. I wish I had the same courage, or have developed the same ideals earlier, then I wouldn’t have kept the anger for long. I should have said something during my “presidential speech”, that would’ve gotten me a standing ovation I bet you. Hahaha!

But yeah, you win some, you lose some people. It’s how you come out from the life challenges that matters. When I was in college I knew I had to turn things around. It was like a personal vendetta. I told myself to finish this race with a bang – and thankfully, with some, no make that a lot of help from my friends and a little bit of booze to keep me sane, I made et and ended up in that little fancy stage with the rector handing over a little piece of metal to me and my mom. It really made me cry, the validation was priceless.

So there, never underestimate the passion and power of young minds. After all, it is what gets you places, it is what brought me where I am today. Make that dream happen, and make sure to earn a lot from it haha!

XO.

Leave a Reply

